Paulus, Henderson, Scheyer Named Captains

Senior Greg Paulus and juniors Gerald Henderson and Jon Scheyer were named captains for the upcoming season, Mike Krzyzewski announced Friday morning.

On the surface, the news isn't that surprising. Paulus seemed to be a lock to reprise the role after he was a sophomore captain, especially after taking on such a quiet leadership position last season. Henderson and Scheyer were the only two players to produce in the NCAA Tournament last year, combining for 33 points in Duke's 73-67 loss to West Virginia in the second round. One player who some thought might earn the nod is redshirt senior Dave McClure, a defensive stalwart who appears to reek of captain material.

DeMarcus Nelson was the lone captain of last year's squad after Nelson, Paulus and Josh McRoberts shared tri-captaincy the year before. Krzyzewski said he named Nelson the only captain--rather than including Paulus last year--because he thought the position had been "diluted" the year before with three leaders.

What prompted the change this year?

--by Ben Cohen


Share and discuss “Paulus, Henderson, Scheyer Named Captains” on social media.