The independent news organization of Duke University

Shane Battier, Grant Hill among 7 Duke Athletics Hall of Fame inductees

Among this year's inductees into the Duke Athletics Hall of Fame are two legendary men's basketball forwards and the Blue Devils' six-time national champion women's golf head coach.

Shane Battier, Grant Hill, Dan Brooks, Ed Meadows, Virada Nirapathpongporn, Kelly Walbert Cagle and Mary Dinkins will be enshrined Sept. 9, Kevin White, vice president and director of athletics, announced Tuesday.

A two-time All-American playing for head coach Mike Krzyzewski, Battier led the Blue Devils to four ACC regular season titles, three ACC tournament championships and the 2001 national championship during his four years at Duke. The versatile forward was named National Player of the Year during his senior season in 2001 and earned National Defensive Player of the Year honors three times during his career. Battier's No. 31 jersey was retired before the Birmingham, Mich., native was taken with the sixth pick in the 2001 NBA Draft and began a 13-year professional career. Battier won two NBA championships with the Miami Heat in 2012 and 2013.

Like Battier, Hill is one of the most decorated small forwards in college basketball history. The three-time All-American helped Duke win its first two national titles in 1991 and 1992 and was part of three teams that won ACC regular season titles. Hill was the ACC Player of the Year during his senior season in 1993-94 and led the Blue Devils to their third Final Four in four years. The 1993 National Defensive Player of the Year was taken third overall in the 1994 NBA Draft and played 18 seasons professionally, making seven All-Star Games. Hill's No. 33 hangs from the rafters of Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Brooks has made the Duke women's golf program among the best in the country, leading the Blue Devils to six national championships from 1999-2014, including three consecutive titles from 2005-2007. Only Arizona State has won more national championships than Duke, with seven. The 14-time ACC Coach of the Year and six-time National Coach of the Year was named the head coach in 1984 and has led the Blue Devils to 125 tournament wins and 18 ACC titles. With Brooks at the helm, Duke has had three NCAA individual champions, 17 individual ACC champions and 24 All-Americans. Brooks broke the NCAA Division I record for victories in 2005 with his 92nd win.

Meadows played football at Duke for in 1952 and 1953 and was a first-team All-American in both seasons. The Blue Devils finished 15-4-1 combined in the two years, winning the Southern Conference in 1952 and the ACC in 1953, and finished in the top 20 nationally in both seasons. Meadows was a third-round NFL Draft pick in 1954 and will be enshrined posthumously after dying in 1974. 

Nirapathpongporn was a four-time All-American women's golfer—the first in Duke history—from 2000 to 2004, leading the Blue Devils to four ACC titles and the 2002 NCAA championship. The four-time All-ACC selection won the 2001 ACC title individually and the 2002 NCAA championship individually, earning both ACC and National Player of the Year honors that year. In 2003, the Bangkok, Thailand, native became the first Duke player to win the U.S. Women's Amateur championship. Nirapathpongporn played on the LPGA Tour from 2006 to 2008.

Cagle played women's soccer from 1992-1995 at Duke and was a three-time All-American. The Blue Devils won an ACC regular season title during the three-time All-ACC selection's career and made the NCAA tournament in all four years. The Tucson, Ariz., native was the ACC Player of the Year in 1995 and holds program records in consecutive games started (90), goals in a season and career (18 and 47), game-winning goals in a season and career (nine and 20) and total career points (117). Cagle played professionally before becoming a college coach—she eventually became the head coach at Virginia Tech in 2003 and led the Hokies for eight seasons.

Dinkins was an athletic administrator who began working for the athletic department nearly 50 years ago as an undergraduate work study student. She worked for the Duke football office for 22 years before becoming Director of the Varsity Club in 1994, a position in which she was the liaison for all former Blue Devil student-athletes and parents until she retired in April. 


Share and discuss “Shane Battier, Grant Hill among 7 Duke Athletics Hall of Fame inductees” on social media.