Cutcliffe Finishes 3rd in Coach of the Year Voting

Last year at this time, some would have considered Duke's four wins a miracle and might have blindly coronated the mastermind of the turnaround, Duke head coach David Cutcliffe, as the ACC's Coach of the Year. Except, of course, for the fact that another coach orchestrated an even more impressive turnaround in the same league.

Not surprisingly, Georgia Tech head coach Paul Johnson was named ACC Coach of the Year Tuesday after bringing the triple-option offense to Atlanta, where the Yellow Jackets finished 9-3 and capped off their regular season with an unexpected win over in-state rival Georgia. Johnson earned 46 of 67 votes from the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Boston College's Jeff Jagodzinski, who led the Eagles to the ACC championship game despite losing Matt Ryan, finished second with 12 votes, and Cutcliffe placed third with four votes. Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer, North Carolina's Butch Davis and N.C. State's Tom O'Brien all received one vote.

The rest of the league's awards will be announced as the week goes on.


Share and discuss “Cutcliffe Finishes 3rd in Coach of the Year Voting” on social media.