“I am deeply humbled to be asked to serve the AFCA in this capacity for a second time,” Cutcliffe said in a press release. “The AFCA is one of the true pillars of this incredible game we call college football, and it will be an honor to help guide our peers into the future. I look forward to the opportunity to work alongside Grant Teaff and the other members of this group to help give back to the sport which has obviously been such a significant part of my life.”

Founded in 1922, the AFCA helps dictate policy and direction for more than 11,000 football coaches across all levels of competition. Among the organization's founders was John Heisman, for whom the Heisman Trophy is named.

Cutcliffe was one of three new members elected to the board this year. The others were Liberty head coach Turner Gill and Southern Illinois head coach Dale Lennon.