Thomas named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

The awards keep piling up for Duke.

The ACC regular season champions were represented by Jasmine Thomas and Joy Cheek on the All-ACC teams, Allison Vernerey on the freshman team and Keturah Jackson as an all-Defensive selection. To top all that, head coach Joanne P. McCallie was named ACC Coach of the Year in her third season at the helm of the Blue Devils.

And now, Thomas has been honored once more with the Kay Yow Award, recognizing the top scholar-athlete in the conference. The junior sociology major, a first-team All-ACC selection and Wooden Award candidate, leads Duke with 15.7 points and 4.3 assists per game.

Aside from Thomas, three other Blue Devils earned All-Academic honors, as Duke led the conference for the second straight season with four selections. Jackson, Vernerey and senior Bridgette Mitchell were named to the 16-member team.

Duke tips off today at 3 p.m. at Greensboro Coliseum in the quarterfinals of the ACC Tournament against No. 9 seed Maryland.


Share and discuss “Thomas named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year” on social media.