Beatrice Capra adds another accolade

Duke's freshman tennis phenom Beatrice Capra was named the ITA National co-Rookie of the Year.

Duke Women's Tennis has won the ITA National Rookie of the Year four times as a program. Ansley Cargill received the award in 2001, Karin Miller in 1997, and Vanessa Webb in 1996.

Capra dominated the ACC this season, and has the awards to prove it. The Maryland product was named ACC Freshman of the Year, ACC Player of the Year, and ACC Tournament MVP. The only other Blue Devil to be bestowed all three honors was Miller after her memorable 1997 season. Capra previously received recognition from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association when she was named the ITA Carolina Region Rookie of the Year last week.

Capra finished the regular season with a 29-4 singles record, including a 20-3 record against ranked opponents. She is competing in the NCAA singles tournament and alongside sophomore partner Rachel Kahan the NCAA doubles tournament this week.


Share and discuss “Beatrice Capra adds another accolade” on social media.