The independent news organization of Duke University

Here are the Class of 2023's newest DSG senators

Duke Student Government is set to welcome its newest representatives from the Class of 2023.

In an election that lasted from noon Thursday to noon Friday, 623 first-years voted to elect their peers to serve in DSG Senate. Out of 17 candidates in the running, 10 were elected. Two first-years could be elected for each of the five committees. DSG Senate will later select at-large candidates who were not elected from a pool of applicants.

"I was excited to see the enthusiasm presented by the first-year candidates," wrote DSG Attorney General John Markis, a sophomore who also serves as a senior news reporter for The Chronicle. "I am confident that these new senators will serve their class well."

Here are the winners:

First-year senators for academic affairs: 

Angikar Ghosal and Andrew Weatherman

First-year senators for campus life: 

Lana Gesinsky and Joon Young Lee

First-year senators for Durham and regional affairs: 

Dawei Gao and Dan King

First-year senators for equity and outreach: 

Zella Hanson and Tommy Shen 

First-year senators for services and sustainability: 

Hana Hendi and Sawyer O'Keefe


Share and discuss “Here are the Class of 2023's newest DSG senators” on social media.