The independent news organization of Duke University

Former Duke men's basketball guard and assistant coach Steve Wojciechowski inks extension with Marquette

Steve Wojciechowski coached at Duke from 1999 to 2014.
Steve Wojciechowski coached at Duke from 1999 to 2014.

Although Duke basketball and Mike Krzyzewski have become synonymous in the four decades that Krzyzewski has been at the helm, the day will come when there will be a new head coach for the Blue Devils.

Among the more popular candidates to be the five-time national champion's eventual successor is Steve Wojciechowski, who played for Krzyzewski from 1994 to 1998 and was a Duke assistant coach from 1999 to 2014. Wojciechowski left his position with Duke to become Marquette's head coach in 2014.

But if Wojciechowski's current employer has anything to say about it, the Severna Park, Md., native will not be coming back to Durham any time soon. 

On Tuesday afternoon, the Golden Eagles announced a five-year extension for Wojciechowski, which will last through the end of the 2023-24 season. Wojciechowski is entering his sixth season with Marquette, and has led the Golden Eagles to a 97-69 record and two NCAA tournament appearances in his time with the team.

In his playing career, the 5-foot-11 point guard earned a reputation as a tenacious perimeter defender, and was named Defensive Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches in 1998.

While Wojciechowski is set to be at Marquette for the foreseeable future, Krzyzewski believes the Blue Devils have a player reminiscent of him defensively: Tre Jones.

"[Tre Jones] did a hell of a job, and as good on the ball as we’ve had, right with [Tommy] Amaker, [Bobby] Hurley, Wojo, [Chris] Duhon, he’s right there, and tonight, maybe better," Krzyzewski said following Duke's 69-58 victory against Texas Tech Dec. 20.

Wojciechowski will look to improve upon his 2018-19 campaign, his most successful year with the Golden Eagles. Marquette finished 24-10, and earned its first top 10 ranking since 2011.