Seniors Laura Roberts and Jay Ruckelshaus have been named as recipients of the 2016 Rhodes Scholarship, and senior Wills Rooney has been awarded a George J. Mitchell Scholarship.

Roberts is a history major with minors in religion and political science. She is also a Global Human Rights Scholar and a Lowell Aptman Prize finalist. Ruckelshaus—a political science major with minors in philosophy, history and English—is a Duke Student Government senator, a Harry S. Truman Scholar and an Angier B. Duke Scholar. Wills Rooney is a Program II major in markets, society and personalism. He is also a Chronicle columnist.

"I am delighted that two Duke students have been chosen as Rhodes Scholars this year,” President Richard Brodhead said in a press release Sunday. "Laura Roberts and Jay Ruckelshaus have immersed themselves in everything Duke has to offer and have made great contributions to this university. I know they will be exemplary Rhodes Scholars.”

Roberts and Ruckelshaus are Duke's first Rhodes Scholars since 2011. Rooney is the University's first Mitchell Scholar since 2014.

Established by the will of Cecil Rhodes, the Rhodes Scholarship supports up to three years of study at Oxford University in Britain. The Mitchell Scholarship supports one year of study at a university in Ireland or Northern Ireland. Both scholarships cover full tuition, living accommodations and other expenses. A total of 32 recipients in the United States received the Rhodes Scholarship this year and 12 recipients were awarded the Mitchell Scholarship.

Check back for updates on this developing story.