Duke lacrosse earns postseason honors

Jordan Wolf became the first player in Duke lacrosse history to earn all-ACC honors in each of his first two seasons. Wolf’s selection was announced last Thursday as a result of voting by the league’s coaches. Wolf earned his first all-ACC selection during his freshman season when he finished second on the team in scoring with 31 goals and 20 assists. This year, Wolf is the team’s leading scorer, having notched 28 goals and 27 assists in 16 games.

Seniors C.J. Costabile and Robert Rotanz also earned all-ACC selections. This was Costabile’s second selection as well. Costabile was also named ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year along with Maryland’s Jesse Bernhardt. He has tallied five goals and three assists in 2012 and has also picked up a whopping 104 ground balls. The long-stick midfielder has also proven to be relentless at the faceoff x, winning a team-high 113 of his 216 attempts this season.

Head coach John Danowski was also named the ACC’s Coach of the Year. This is Danowski’s third Coach of the Year award in his six seasons at Duke.

Danowski recently led the Blue Devils to their fourth ACC tournament title in the past six seasons. Costabile was one of five Blue Devils named to the ACC all-tournament team. Costabile was joined by freshman Will Haus, sophomore Josh Dionne, junior Dan Wigrizer and the tournament’s MVP, sophomore Christian Walsh. Walsh tallied four goals and two assists in Duke’s 12-9 victory over North Carolina to clinch its eighth ACC title.


Share and discuss “Duke lacrosse earns postseason honors” on social media.