Crotty, Davis Named Tewaaraton Finalists

Duke seniors Ned Crotty and Carolyn Davis were named as finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy, granted to the best men's and women's lacrosse players each season.

This is the first nomination for Crottywho leads the country with 65 points and 45 assistsand it continues a recent stretch of success for the Blue Devils. Duke had two of the five Tewaaraton Award finalists last year in Matt Danowksi, the 2007 recipient, and Zack Greer, who currenty plays at Bryant University and is a finalist for the second consecutive season. Danowski is the school's only men's winner to date.

Davis, who leads her team in goals, is also a first-time finalist, and is one of three ACC honorees. Duke's last finalist was Caroline Cryer in 2007 and the program's only winner was Katie Chrest in 2005.

Both award recipients will be announced at the 9th annual Tewaaraton Award Banquent May 28.

Crotty and the Blue Devils take on Navy in the first round of the NCAA tournament this Saturday at 7 p.m. in Koskinen Stadium. Davis will lead Duke against Virginia this Sunday at 2 p.m., also at home.


Share and discuss “Crotty, Davis Named Tewaaraton Finalists” on social media.