The independent news organization of Duke University


Third batch of Robertson Scholars selected by Duke, UNC -

President Nan Keohane and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chancellor James Moeser announced Wednesday this year's winners of the four-year Robertson Scholars scholarships. Duke offered the scholarship to 16 students; Carolina, to 21. Two additional winners - Boris Nikolic of Greensboro and Christopher Glazner of Chapel Hill - were offered the scholarship by both schools and find themselves in the position of choosing whether to become Robertson Scholars at Carolina or Duke.

The winners, invited to enroll as freshmen next fall, come from as far away as Vietnam and as close as Durham and Chapel Hill. They have until May 1 to accept the scholarship. Those chosen at Duke would enroll and graduate at Duke; those chosen by Carolina would enroll and graduate in Chapel Hill. Along the way, all would study on both campuses and participate in numerous joint programs.

The winners will comprise the third class of the Robertson Scholars Program, funded by a $24 million endowment gift from Julian and Josie Robertson of New York City in June 2000.

Students accepted to Duke include: Nikolic, Glazner and Vanessa Barnett-Loro of North Carolina; Aminah Cherry of California; Nirmala Chilamkurti of Illinois; Catarina Rivera of Maryland; Meenakshi Chivukula and Sandeep Saluja of Massachusetts; Meenakshi Chivukula of New Mexico; Daniel Kimberg of New York; Lauren Fryer of Ohio; Jordan Kyle from Oklahoma; Eli Wolfe from Pennsylvania; Eunkyung Baek of Tennessee; Carly Knight of Texas; Sarah Rutstein of Washington; Victoria Daskalova of Bulgaria; Naike Swai of Tanzania; Vanessa Redditt of Canada and Norway.

Students at UNC include: Nikolic, Glazner, Alexander Pearson, Amber Morehouse, Sorell Massenburg, Kate Rebecca Scott, Sorell Massenburg and Neha Koul of North Carolina; Emily Williams of District of Columbia; Dimia Fogam and William Krueger of Georgia; Lauren Berkowitz of Washington; Ebony Carter of Kansas; Timothy Reilly of Kentucky; Sara Schiffman Joseph of Massachusetts; Van Tran of New Mexico; Carol Duh and Madeline Walter of New Jersey; Daniel Willner of New York; Michael Hachey of Ohio; Emmie Granbery of Tennessee; Bradley Retzloff of Texas; Kelly Geoghegan of Virginia; Christopher Keuler of Wisconsin.

IGSP center grand opening set for Monday -

The Center for Human Genetics will celebrate the grand opening of the new building housing the center April 21. The celebration, which is free and open to the public, will begin at 2 p.m. in the Bryan Research Building Auditorium, Room 103.

The Center for Human Genetics, one of five major centers in Duke's Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy, uses family histories, sophisticated molecular analyses and statistical genetics to reveal the genetic origin of diseases including Alzheimer's disease, multiple sclerosis and other neurological disorders. The center also plans to apply the rapidly advancing science and technology of genomics to a wide array of other major disorders, including heart disease, diabetes, glaucoma, osteoarthritis, mental illness and cancers. The 120,000-square-foot, $41-million "Genome Sciences Research Building I" off Research Drive is the first major structure to house the IGSP.


Share and discuss “UNIVERSITY BRIEFS” on social media.