The independent news organization of Duke University

ACC names top 50 men, women

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its men's and women's Golden Anniversary teams yesterday, naming the top 50 men and women ever to play sports in the ACC.

Duke finished tied for second overall placing 14 athletes on the teams-six men and eight women. North Carolina led the conference with 27, 12 men and 15 women, while N.C. State tied with the Blue Devils, placing the same numbers on each team.

Five of the six Blue Devils chosen were former men's basketball players: Shane Battier (1998-2001), Johnny Dawkins (1983-1986), Grant Hill (1991-1994), Christian Laettner (1989-1992) and Jay Williams (2000-2002). The other male member from the University was outdoor track star Dave Sime (1954-1956).

The women's selection from the University were more diverse. Beth Bauer (1998-2000), Jenny Chuasiriporn (1995-1999) and Candy Hannemann (1998-2001) represented the golf team, while Alana Beard (2000-2002), Chris Moreland (1985-1988) and Georgia Schweitzer (1998-2001) from the women's basketball program were also selected.

Swimming and tennis also each placed one on the list, with Nancy Hogshead (1981) and Vanessa Webb (1995-1999) respectively.

The Golden Anniversary team selections are part of the year-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of the ACC.


Share and discuss “ACC names top 50 men, women” on social media.