The ACC Council of Presidents released a statement today affirming their commitment to the league.

The statement in full:

“We, the undersigned presidents of the Atlantic Coast Conference, wish to express our commitment to preserve and protect the future of our outstanding league.  We want to be clear that the speculation about ACC schools in negotiations or considering alternatives to the ACC are totally false.  The presidents of the ACC are united in our commitment to a strong and enduring conference.  The ACC has long been a leader in intercollegiate athletics, both academically and athletically, and the constitution of our existing and future member schools will maintain the ACC’s position as one of the nation’s premier conferences.”

Fr. William Leahy, Boston College

Mr. James Barker, Clemson University

Dr. Richard Brodhead, Duke University

Dr. Eric Barron, Florida State University

Dr. G.P. “Bud” Peterson, Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. James Ramsey, University of Louisville

Dr. Donna Shalala, University of Miami

Dr. Holden Thorp, University of North Carolina

Dr. Randy Woodson, North Carolina State University

Fr. John Jenkins, University of Notre Dame

Dr. Mark Nordenberg, University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Nancy Cantor, Syracuse University

Dr. Teresa Sullivan, University of Virginia

Dr. Charles Steger, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

Dr. Nathan Hatch, Wake Forest University

Here is the interesting twist—ESPN college football reporter Brett McMurphy tweeted, "ACC's decision to express solidarity as a league initiated by FSU, UNC, GaTech, Clemson & VaTech presidents."

Florida State, North Carolina, Georgia Tech, Clemson and Virginia Tech—the schools McMurphy said initiated the statement—are the ones most often rumored to be leaving the league.